Q&A with Christina =]

Ok so this blog post is way over due! But you guys know what I am like for procrastination haha, but I finally got round to it so here we go..

I decided to start doing Q&A’s with interesting people as I really enjoyed my first one with Happy Herbivore =] So when the lovely Christina a Vegan I met on twitter agreed to answer some questions for me I was super pleased! I really found her answers to be helpful and I hope that you guys reading will too! So enjoy..

1. How long have you been a veggie and what sparked the decision?
I went vegetarian when I was 14. I went to a friends house and read a bunch of animal rights leaflets, and something just clicked in my head.
I acted really childishly- went home and refused to eat the dinner which my Mum had lovingly prepared. I remember it so clearly- chinese food. Chicken and cashew nuts, egg fried rice, noodles. I told her I would only be eating the noodles and rice- I was a stubborn teenager! I went through a short phase of eating fish, but by 15 I was fully vegetarian.
Then when I got a bit older, around 19, I started to think about veganism. I read up about it, and again something clicked. However something inside of me thought that I just couldn’t do it. Cheese and chocolate were too strong factors, and I left my vegan thoughts aside for a while. They kept nagging at me though, and I started speaking to friends who were vegan. The feedback was only positive, and after doing some research I turned vegan the day after my 20th birthday, and have been vegan for five years now.
2. How do you feel being veggie has benefited you?
Being young and vegetarian meant that I didn’t cook for myself, and the vegetarian choices were limited. Seriously, ten years ago the veggie options were sparse! However, turning vegan has opened up a new world of cooking. Because I couldn’t buy pre made food I had to make things from scratch- and I loved it! It means I eat healthily, control what goes into my food more, and try new things all the time!
3. Do you ever fall off the wagon or feel tempted to and if so what do you do to avoid temptation?
Never. When you really want to do something, when it’s something you really believe in, you’re never tempted. I have friends who have eaten super friendly eggs- from friends chickens etc, and I am tempted to try a happy egg. But at the same time, the idea really freaks me out!
 
4. Do you live with/ know any other veggies?
I’m very lucky that my partner is vegan, and my sister is also vegan. Most of my friends are either vegan or vegetarian- but I also have a lot of meat eating friends, I don’t discriminate! I love being part of a vegan couple, and couldn’t imagine it any other way.

5. Where do you go for your groceries? And how often do you have to shop and how much do you spend usually? (Ignore that if its too cheeky)
I love to shop in health food stores, and living in Brighton, I’m very lucky to have plenty of choice! In terms of supermarkets I buy basics from Sainsburys, and love to treat myself in M&S and Waitrose. We have an amazing shop called Taj here, which is an ethical food shop and it sells everything that I love. Vegan cheeses, meats, japanese food, samosas, huge bags of spices. It’s brilliant! Each week is different, and I tend to shop day by day as I never really know how much I’m going to be able to eat. Some days I can eat a big meal, others I will go for days without eating. Now that I live with my partner the fridge is a bit more well stocked!

6. What is your favourite veggie food?
Houmous. I would marry houmous. I would like to swim in a pool of chickpea goodness and eat my way out, it is AMAZING.

7. Do you feel its easy to be veggie on the go?
It can take a little planning, but by now I’ve learnt where I can and can’t buy food, which makes it quicker. When we travel, my boyfriend and I go onto happycow.net, and print out all of the vegan cafes, restaurants and health food stores in the city that we’re visiting, so we’re very prepared!

8. What do you do when youre invited for dinner?
I’m lucky that a lot of my friends are veggie/ vegan or very accustomed to vegan cuisine! I have been to dinner parties where the host has messed up and added butter to the pasta, but these things happen and there’s usually the means to rustle up a quick salad!

9. Do you have any favourite veggie celebs or quotes?
Sarah Kramer and Isa Chandra are two amazing ladies who write brilliant cookbooks. Isa’s Vegan Brunch is fantastic. Natalie Portman is a very cool vegan lady too!
I don’t tend to idolise people, but when I met Dan Yemon, and gave him some vegan chocolate, that was a pretty cool moment!

10. Do you have any goals involving your herbivorism?
I would like to raise vegan children, but I will need to do a lot more research for this. I would also like to continue to be vegan for as long as I can!

11. What would you say to people considering a veggie lifestyle or to those who are trying to do it but finding it difficult?
Address why it is that you’re finding it difficult. Are parents/ friends making it difficult for you? Is it hard to find nice vegan alternatives in your area? Make it absolutely clear in your head WHY you want to be veggie/ vegan. This will remind you everytime you are tempted, why you are doing this.
Log onto websites like veganstore.co.uk and look up Vx’s online ordering system and treat yourself to some amazing vegan products. Travel to cities if you can’t experience amazing vegan cuisine near to you. Dribble over Ms Cupcake’s amazing cakes! And take it one step at a time. It’s your decision and your body, no one else is impacted by what goes into your mouth, so make your own choices! Your body will love you for it!

Wow! So I am loving Christina now – not only is the girl extremely sweet and helpful, she loves houmous! How can anyone not love a girl who wants to form a romance with chickpeas? So I really want to thank Christina for answering my questions, I for one really apreciated her views and will be checking out the websites she mentioned for sure! Hope you guys enjoyed it to, i want feedback please =]

Magdalena =] xo

Leave a Reply

