2 blogs in 1 day? its because my middle name is ‘lucky bastard’.

Well it has to be. My blog hasn’t been up a full day and i’ve had only 15 views. Yet… I managed to score us an interview with the amazing Happy Herbivore [real name Lindsay]. This girl is epic, she is a vegan blogger gently encouraging the world to take on a more animal/enviroment friendly lifestyle, one tweet at a time! She is cute, intelligent, inspiring and friendly and has a huge following to prove it! Lindsay was kind enough to take the time to answer some questions for me.  I tried to ask questions that not only I wanted answers for but answers to questions i thought would be helpful to aspiring veggies. I hope you enjoy the interview.

 

how long have you been a herbivore and what sparked the decision?

I decided to be a vegetarian at age 7 and was a vegetarian for most of my life. I lapsed back to omnivore in my late teens but returned to vegetarianism in my early 20s. I was a vegetarian for about a year when I went vegan, almost three years ago.

 
how was the transition into an animal friendly lifestyle like for you ?
when I stop being a vegetarian in high school (due to peer pressure) i gained weight, developed acne and had horrible mood swings. I was so upset by this that I started dieting and later starving myself. It was a horrible vicious cycle that continued until I went veg again. Once I returned to vegetarianism, I lost weight and I was happy — I felt and saw a real change in my body and spirit. When I was eating meat I just generally felt unwell and had digestive disorders and struggles with food — that all went away once I returned to a plant-based diet.

cutting out meat was very easy for me, so was giving up dairy and eggs. The hardest part was the social aspect but generally, it was a positive experience, I had a lot of support and as the years have gone by many of my friends and family members have made the switch too.
 
what do you consider to be the benefits of this lifestyle?
there are so many! it’s the single best thing you can do for your health, the planet and for all living creatures — animals and humans. If the world went vegetarian, there would be no more world hunger.
 
 
any downsides at all?
it can be difficult when traveling, but proper planning prevents that — but otherwise, no. Going veg is the best decision I will ever make.
 
 
what is your attitude towards encouraging the lifestyle on others?
I believe in leading by example. I call it being “compassionately quiet.” I try not to judge people or be militant about it. I’ve talked at length about this in my article, “From Vegangelical to Yogini”
http://heylindsay.com/2009/from-vegangelical-to-yogini/

 
what would you say to persuade someone to try going vegetarian?
I do advocate a vegan diet but people have to make changes for themselves because they want to, not because I’m pushing them to. I try to tell people about all the benefits… how healthy it is, how eating meat and dairy causes cancer and other conditions, how it can end world hunger, how it can save the earth, how awful it is for the animals, etc etc. There are so many compelling and important reasons for going vegan that once you really here them you can’t live any other way. 
 
 
what is your favourite veggie meal/food?
There really isn’t anything I don’t like! It’s wonderful. I eat a wider variety of food now as a vegan than I ever did as an omnivore. I was such a picky eater and now I’ll try anything as long as it’s vegan. I’ve also discovered a lot of amazing ingredients and cuisines I don’t think I’d have been open to as an omni. Being a vegan chef makes it impossible to narrow down just one food or ingredient, but I live and die for all my recipes.
 
 
who do consider to be good role models within the vegetarian community?
There are a lot of vegan celebrities like Alicia Silverstone and vegan athletes like Brendan Brazier that inspire me every single day. When I first went veg I’d spend hours on the international vegetarian union’s (ivu.org) website that lists 100s if not 1000s of famous vegans and vegetarians – both alive and no longer with us. It was amazing to see how many people are compassionate like me but have gone and done astounding things with their life too.. then again, there are 1000s of ordinary vegheads who are role models for just being the great people they are.
 
what are your tips for someone interested in living a lifestlye that is unharmful to animals and the environment?
If you want to help the environment and animals the best thing you can do is adopt a vegan diet. Not only will you be leaving a lighter foot print on the earth, you’ll be saving more than 80 animals each year from slaughter. You will also be voting with your dollar. If you don’t think one less meatless meal doesn’t matter, think again. EVERY meatless meal matters. Every time you don’t buy an animal product — milk, dairy, cheese makes a statement. One person can make a difference and the best way you change foster change is by voting with your dollars.
 
And lastly, any other message youd like to send out to beginner veggies?
Find a local veg meetup in your area, join forums, twitter, blogging — you are not alone. We are here for you.
 Well there you go readers, what a fantastic interview! I feel very lucky to have been given the oppurtunity to ask someone so ‘in the know’ questions that can help inspire you all to make the change to vegetarianism/veganism.  I hope you feel well spoken for when it comes to the questions i asked and found the answers as helpful as i did! If you’d like to learn more about our veggie of the moment check her out at www.happyherbivore.com or follow her on twitter at twitter.com/happyherbivore =] thanks lindsay for all your help your so cool!
 
peace out! xo
2 Responses to “2 blogs in 1 day? its because my middle name is ‘lucky bastard’.”

  1. SkinnyScorpio Says:

    Such an informative and inspiring interview!

    It inspired me to pursue veganism along with my friend, Jade. ❤ ^_^

    Have decided to follow Lindsay on twitter as well. Let her know that her interview was appreciated and enlightening.

    Thanks!

  2. natural curing acne Says:

    Advantageously, the article is really the best topic on curing acne naturally. I concur with your conclusions and will thirstily look forward to your next updates. Saying thanks will not just be adequate, for the great clarity in your writing. I will immediately grab your rss feed to stay informed of any updates.

Leave a Reply

